Ariel Quartet Concert Series Continues Oct. 25 at CCM

Featured Image -- 667

Second concert in Ariel’s series coming up!


After its stunning opening performance of the 2016-17 season in September, the Ariel Quartetreturns to CCM in concert at 8 p.m. on Tuesday, Oct. 25 in Corbett Auditorium with a program featuring the works of Mozart, Shostakovich and Dvořák. Tickets are available through the CCM Box Office.

The Ariel Quartet, string quartet-in-residence at CCM. The Ariel Quartet, string quartet-in-residence at CCM. Photo by Saverio Truglia.

The Ariel Quartet is comprised of Alexandra Kazovsky, violin; Amit Even-Tov, cello; Gershon Gerchikov, violin; and Jan Grüning, viola. Grand Prize winners at the 2006 Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition and 2014 recipients of the prestigious Cleveland Quartet Award, the Quartet was formed in Israel 16 years ago and now serves as CCM’s distinguished string quartet-in-residence.

Cincinnati Enquirer writer Janelle Gelfand said nearly every seat in CCM’s Corbett Auditorium was filled for the Quartet’s Sept. 6 opening concert and praised the “vibrant” performance.

“I loved the…

View original post 272 more words

CCM Alumni Return in Concert with the US Air Force Band on Oct. 21

Featured Image -- 664


Several UC College-Conservatory of Music alumni will return to campus and perform as part of a community relations concert tour with the U.S. Air Force Concert Band and Singing Sergeants at 8 p.m. Friday, October 21 in Corbett Auditorium.

The concert is free and open to the general public but ticket reservations are required. Tickets are available online at or in person at UC’s Veterans Programs and Services Office.

This year marks the 75th anniversary of the U.S. Air Force Band, the premier musical organization of the U.S. Air Force, which includes the Concert Band, Singing Sergeants and four additional ensembles. For three consecutive years, the Concert Band and Singing Sergeants have been the featured performing ensemble of Macy’s nationally broadcast Fourth of July fireworks show in New York City.

The tour is part of the Air Force Band’s “Advancing Innovation Through Music” (AIM) educational outreach program…

View original post 617 more words

Music Hall renovation stories

The scene a few weeks ago in Springer Auditorium.
The scene a few weeks ago in Springer Auditorium.

So, I had asked our techies to put all of our Music Hall stories on one page, so that you, the public, could follow the renovation. However, the page ( seems to be not working. Therefore, I have posted as many articles, renderings, letters and opinions as I could find on my Pinterest page.


A jazzy, joyful premiere

Ellen Taaffe Zwilich/photo by Bill Keefrey
Ellen Taaffe Zwilich/photo by Bill Keefrey

“I don’t like the ivory tower,” said Ellen Taaffe Zwilich. “When I’m writing for musicians, I can hear them in my head.”

Indeed, there was no “ivory tower” here. On Sunday, the Pulitzer Prize-winning American composer was in the house — First Unitarian Church, home of the Linton Music Series — to hear the world premiere of her delightful “Pas de Trois,” honoring the 40th anniversary of the Kalichstein-Laredo-Robinson Trio, to whom the piece is dedicated. It was her sixth piece for the ensemble: Pianist Joseph Kalichstein, violinst Jaime Laredo and cellist Sharon Robinson.

Her Piano Trio marked their 10th anniversary, and she has also written a Double Concerto (violin and cello), a Triple Concerto, a Septet and a Quintet for the musicians:

Creator and performers discuss their longtime collaboration.
Creator and performers discuss their longtime collaboration.

Admitting that she had “butterflies,” Zwilich said “When there’s a commission, I feel like people are betting on me, and that inspires me…. This is not my piece. This is their piece. Performance breathes life into music.” Continue reading

Play of the day: Finding common ground in music and the NFL

Concert pianist Emanuel Ax with Bengals Assistant Head Coach Paul Alexander.
Concert pianist Emanuel Ax with Bengals Assistant Head Coach Paul Alexander.

I love this photo. Here is Emanuel “Manny” Ax, one of the great pianists of the world, who just performed Beethoven’s “Emperor” Concerto with the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra (and played it like a god) standing with Cincinnati Bengals assistant head coach Paul Alexander, right after the Bengals’ win against the New York Jets at MetLife Stadium today.

I bumped into Coach at the CSO concert in Cincy on Thursday. I’m not surprised he was there. Besides the Bengals (where he’s also offensive line coach) he’s a dedicated student of classical piano. That’s right. He has even performed in public and written a book: “Perform,” comparing lessons he has learned at the piano with motivation and skill on the field.

As  I wrote in my review, it was a joy to hear Ax “perform” so beautifully in the “Emperor.” I was also able to catch him last week for a few minutes for a brief conversation after he arrived in Cincinnati, and was surprised to learn that he gets nervous, just like the rest of us.

I would venture to say, after watching today’s Bengals win and that amazing US Open Final, that sports and music have more in common than meets the eye.

Linton celebrates KLR’s 40th, and more

40 years of piano trios: Joseph Kalichstein, piano, right, Sharon Ronbinson, cello, and Jaime Laredo, violin
40 years of piano trios: Joseph Kalichstein, piano, right, Sharon Robinson, cello, and Jaime Laredo, violin

Chamber music lovers won’t want to miss the Linton Music Series season this year, The 38th season of this musical gem takes place in Avondale’s First Unitarian Church and Loveland’s Congregation Beth Adam, Besides the 40th birthday tribute to the KLR Trio — two of whom, Jaime Laredo and Sharon Robinson, are the series artistic directors — -there will also be the Cincinnati debut of the McGill/McHale Trio, a rare performance by CSO maestro Louis Langrée and Kelley O’Connor, and much more. Continue reading